Ontario PNP Overhaul 2026: Old Streams Closed, Workforce Priority Stream Opens
Ontario rebuilt its Provincial Nominee Program (OINP) in 2026. Eight legacy streams, including the Express Entry streams and the Master's and PhD Graduate streams, were repealed on June 25, 2026 and replaced by the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream, which has pathways for TEER 0-3 jobs, TEER 4-5 jobs, and self-employed physicians. Its expression of interest (EOI) portal opened on August 4, 2026; Ontario calls this the first of two phases.
On this page
- Legacy streams repealed
- June 25, 2026
- New stream
- Ontario Workforce Priority Stream
- EOI portal opened
- August 4, 2026
- Pathways
- TEER 0-3, TEER 4-5, self-employed physicians
- Job offer
- Full-time, permanent Ontario offer (TEER pathways)
- Ontario's 2026 allocation
- 14,119 nominations
- Phase 2
- Announced as coming; details not yet published
Timeline
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| April 8, 2026 | A draw under the legacy streams invites 1,635 candidates in health care and early childhood education, plus 146 French-speaking candidates. |
| June 25, 2026 | Amending regulation 204/26 to Ontario Regulation 422/17 comes into force. Eight legacy streams are repealed and the EOI system closes to new EOIs under them. |
| June 26, 2026 | Ontario publishes the change and introduces the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream. |
| July 20, 2026 | Program web pages are updated with the new stream's criteria. |
| August 4, 2026 | The EOI portal for the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream opens to candidates and employers. |
| To be announced | Phase 2 of the redesign. |
Which OINP streams closed?
These eight streams were repealed on June 25, 2026:
- Employer Job Offer: Foreign Worker
- Employer Job Offer: In-Demand Skills
- Employer Job Offer: International Student
- Master's Graduate
- PhD Graduate
- Express Entry: Human Capital Priorities
- Express Entry: French-Speaking Skilled Worker
- Express Entry: Skilled Trades
EOIs and job offers registered under these streams that did not lead to an invitation are being withdrawn automatically. People who had already applied after an invitation are assessed under the rules in effect when they submitted.
How does the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream work?
All three pathways are employer-driven except the physician pathway.
| Pathway | Job offer | Work experience | Language | Education |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TEER 0-3 | Full-time, permanent offer in any TEER 0-3 occupation | 6 months in a row in the last 12 months, or 3 months for recent Ontario graduates, or 2 years total in the last 5 years | CLB 6 (CLB 5 for some occupations) | Post-secondary degree or diploma |
| TEER 4-5 | Full-time, permanent offer in any TEER 4-5 occupation | 9 months total in the last 2 years | CLB 4 | Canadian secondary school diploma or equivalent |
| Self-employed physicians | Not required | Not specified | Not specified | Member in good standing of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, able to bill OHIP |
CLB means Canadian Language Benchmark. TEER is the training, education, experience and responsibilities level in the National Occupational Classification (NOC). Check the official program pages for wage and other requirements before you register.
What this means for applicants
- You now need a job offer for almost every Ontario PNP route. The old Masters and PhD streams let graduates apply without one; they are gone.
- No Express Entry-linked Ontario stream exists right now. Express Entry candidates who want an Ontario nomination need an Ontario job offer and must use the new stream.
- Lower-skilled jobs are included. The TEER 4-5 pathway is open to all occupations at those levels, not a short list.
- Employers do not need to pre-register. Existing employer portal accounts can be reused, but each new EOI needs a new job offer.
What to do now
- If you have an Ontario employer willing to offer you a full-time permanent job, check which pathway fits and register an EOI.
- Get a recent language test result at the required CLB level. See language tests.
- If you have no job offer, look at federal options such as Express Entry and category-based draws.
- Watch Ontario's OINP updates page for Phase 2 and for draw announcements.
- For more on the province, see immigrating to Ontario and the PNP overview.
Frequently asked questions
Is the OINP Masters Graduate stream still open?
No. It was repealed on June 25, 2026, along with the PhD Graduate stream and six other streams.
What is the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream?
Ontario's new main PNP stream, with pathways for TEER 0-3 jobs, TEER 4-5 jobs, and self-employed physicians. Its EOI portal opened on August 4, 2026.
Do I need a job offer for Ontario PNP in 2026?
Yes for the TEER 0-3 and TEER 4-5 pathways, which need a full-time, permanent Ontario job offer. The self-employed physician pathway is based on Ontario medical registration instead.
What happened to my old OINP EOI?
EOIs under the former streams that did not get an invitation are being withdrawn automatically. You would need to register a new EOI under the new stream if you qualify.
What is Phase 2 of the OINP redesign?
Ontario has said the August 2026 launch is the first of two phases but has not published Phase 2 details.
Official sources
General information, not legal advice. NorthAmericans.com is independent and not affiliated with any government.